2023 ANRC Champions Crowned in Aiken

2023 ANRC Champions Crowned in Aiken
Aiken, SC – April, 25, 2023 – Since 1978 the American National Riding Commission (ANRC) has hosted a yearly spring championship. Originally known as the Affiliate National Riding Coalition, the American National Riding Commission’s goals are to promote and teach the American Forward System of Riding to young adults around the country. 
Hattie Bradford and Elliot
The competition is judged and scored on equitation and sound horsemanship practices. Unlike other collegiate formats, ANRC allows participants to utilize their own horse, a lease horse, or a school horse for the competition – allowing riders to build a partnership with their mount prior to competition and allows for schooling for the different phases prior to competition. High schools and colleges can enter multiple teams and individuals in two different divisions (National – 3ft and Novice – 2’6”). Each team can have a minimum of two riders or a maximum of three riders. Teams that consist of three riders drop the lowest score in each competition phase. The Championship consists of four phases and the highest score in each phase is awarded to the rider who demonstrates excellence in equitation and produces a smooth, cooperative performance exemplifying quality hunter movement both on the flat and over fences. The scores are then added to produce both individual and team standings. The four phases include: Written (based on riding theory and horsemanship well practices as dictated in the USHJA Horsemanship Quiz Study Guide and Paul Cronin’s book titled ‘Schooling and Riding the Sport Horse’) which accounts for 5% of the total score, Program Ride/Flat Phase (includes USEF Equitation Tests) which accounts for 35% of the total score, an Equitation Derby (typically held on grass over natural type obstacles) which accounts for 30% of the total score, and a Medal Round (Hunt Seat Equitation) which accounts for 30% of the total score.

The yearly championships took a two-year hiatus in 2020 and 2021 during COVID. For its second year back in action, the 2023 Championship, presented by title sponsor, the WSJ Foundation, took to Highfields Event Center in Aiken, SC. The event saw 41 stunning horse and rider combinations during the 3-days of competition. 
Celia Cram and Notable
The Collegiate National Division was topped for the second year in a row by Celia Cram, a junior from Savannah College of Art & Design. Cram piloted Notable, owned by Kaycie Miranda, topping three of the four phases, the program ride, the derby (89), and the medal round (90). Celia was also the 2022 ANRC National Champion Individual at Centenary University. Reserve champion was Morgan Munz from Centenary University. Munz piloted Houdini, owned by Centenary University to second place in both the program ride and the medal round (89), and also claimed top spot in the written phase. The Savannah College of Art and Design – SCAD Bees team took home the National Championship, which included riders Celia Cram, Alex Alston, and Madison Aguilar. The Reserve National Championship team was the 2022 Champion team, Centenary University, riders Morgan Munz, Benjamin Hoban, and Caroline Mancini (2022 Individual Novice Champion). 
Rachel Chard and Star Jewel
The Collegiate Novice Division saw a total of 20 horse rider combinations, top call was Sweet Briar College first year Rachel Chard. Chard piloted Star Jewel, owned by Sweet Briar College to first place in the derby (85.5), second place in the program ride, and third in the medal round (84). Reserve Champion in the Novice division was Hattie Bradford of Savannah College of Art and Design. Bradford piloted Elliot owned by SCAD, and was second in the derby phase (84), third in the program ride, fourth in the written, and fifth in the medal round (80). The Novice team competition saw both Champion and Reserve Champion come from Savannah College of Art & Design, with SCAD Black & Yellow (172.41) represented by riders Libby LeStage, Hallie Eskey, and Hattie Bradford, taking the top spot, and SCAD Bees, represented by Francesca Nervick, Anna Carter, and Morgan Fullam, taking reserve (170.80).
Kayleigh Wyatt, High School National Champion
Presented by Wendy and Autumn Janesky representing the WSJ Foundation
The high school National Division saw Kayleigh Wyatt from St.Timothy’s School in Stevenson, MD take the individual championship for the second year in a row. Wyatt claimed the top spot in three of the four phases (written phase, derby, and medal round). Reserve National Champion individual was St.Timothy’s rider, Ava Berman. Team competition in the high school national division saw St.Timothy’s White come out on top, with riders Kayleigh Wyatt and Maggie Baffi, and St.Timothy’s Blue take reserve, represented by Ava Berman and Olivia Caramouche.
Laine Rubin, High School Novice Champion
Presented by Wendy and Autumn Janesky representing the WSJ Foundation
The high school Novice Division saw some first-time representatives taking home top honors. Local rider Lainie Rubin, of Tally Ho Equestrian in Simmonsville, SC took home the high school individual novice National Championship. Rubin took first place in the medal round (80), and took second in the three other phases. Reserve individual novice champion was Alana Pardue, who represented St.Andrew’s University Junior Team. Pardue won the program ride, and was second in the medal phase (76). 
Information about the 2024 Championships will be available over the summer. To find out how to get involved with the 2024 Championship or to learn more about the organization, please visit our website; www.anrc.org.
Presented by Wendy & Autumn Janesky on behalf ofTitle Sponsor, the WSJ Foundation
Collegiate National Champion Team –Savannah College of Art & DesignCollegiate National Individual Champion –Celia Cram – SCAD
Collegiate National Reserve Champion Team – Centenary UniversityCollegiate Novice Champion Team – Savannah College of Art & Design, Black & Yellow Team
Collegiate Novice Individual Champion – Rachel Chard – Sweet Briar CollegeCollegiate Novice Reserve Champion Individual – Hattie Bradford – SCAD
Collegiate Novice Reserve Champion Team – Savannah College of Art & Design –SCAD Bees TeamIndividual Junior Novice Champion – Lainie Rubin
Junior National Champion Team –St.Timothy’s WhiteJunior National Reserve Champion Team – St.Timothy’s Blue
Junior Novice Champion Team – Tally HoNational Junior Individual Champion –Kayleigh Wyatt
National Junior Individual Reserve Champion – Ava BermanNational Reserve Champion Individual – Morgan Munz – Centenary
Novice Junior Reserve Champion – Alana Pardue